The first Franciscans came to Ljubuški during Kotromanić’s reign and founded a monastery in the 15th century. The foundation stone for the new monastery was blessed by the Apostolic Vicar Anđeo Kraljević in April, 4th 1867.
The government had decided to build seminary for the education of young Franciscans in Humac. The seminary could not exist without the church, so they purchased the lot near the parish house to build the St Anthony’s Church. The main altar in this church is the magnificent Baroque-style altar, which is placed in the church from 1900, although it is the work of a master Claudius Kautz which dates back from the 1725.
The building of the monastery lasted approximately for ten years, and was led by Fr Nikola Šimović. There is equipped multipurpose hall in the western part of the monastery, which can accommodate approximately 120 people. It is mainly used for organizing courses, such as preparation for Christian marriage, priestly and religious meetings, religious debates and various other meetings. The monastery also owns the renovated library with more than 20,000 copies. The Humac Museum is located near Franciscan Monastery on Humac in Ljubuški.
The church in the center of this city is St Catherine’s Church, which was completely destroyed by the Ottomans. The area around St Catherine’s Church was once the pride of Ljubuški. Of course, now it looks a little different because the sculpture of Fr Lovro Šitović Ljubušak is placed in the front that makes it even more beautiful. St Catherine is a patron of Ljubuški.